Home / About / Administration

ECSC Organizational Structure and Management Approach

The ECSC has developed an organizational structure and management approach designed to facilitate:

1) Effective communication and dissemination of results among various partners, NOAA, and stakeholders;

2) Successful implementation of goals and objectives;

3) Responsible fiscal operations and use of human and physical resources; and

4) Objective planning assessment, evaluation and improvement of Center activities.

Organizational Chart

Open Chart
Close Chart


EPP Program Manager

Dr. Audrey Trotman (NOAA: Office of Education, Educational Partnership Program)

NOAA Technical Monitors
  • Dr. Clement Lewsey (NOAA: International Program Office, National Ocean Service - Director)
  • Dr. Mary Erickson [Acting Technical Monitor] (NOAA: Coast Survey Development Laboratory - Chief)

ECSC Advisory Board
  • Jim Yoder (Chair) - WHOI: Vice President for Academic Programs & Dean Directorate/Senior Scientist
  • Becky Allee - NOAA: NOAA Coastal Services Center - Senior Scientist
  • Suzanne Bricker - NOAA: NOAA NOS-National Estuarine Eutrophication Assessment - Physical Scientist and Manager
  • Marie Bundy - NOAA: NOAA National Estuarine Reserves Division - National Research Coordinator
  • Tony Reisinger - Texas A&M University: Texas A&M AgriLife-County Extension Agent (Texas Sea Grant)
  • Steven Thur - NOAA: Deputy Director of NCCOS

The Center Director (Dr. Michael Abazinge) is responsible for the overall management of ECSC, including: directing fiscal and personnel matters; coordinating and planning Center activities; assessing implementation of goals and objectives; representing the Center in NOAA-mandated activities; ensuring that all reporting requirements are met; and serving as the primary interface to NOAA program management. 

The Deputy Director (Dr. Bernadette Kelley) will act on behalf of the Center Director and will coordinate ECSC research and training activities. The Deputy Director will work with the ECSC Technical Monitors and NOAA Advisory Council to ensure that ECSC research goals and student training activities are aligned with NOAA research priorities and to identify strategies and implement procedures for a) networking ECSC scientists and student researchers and activities into NOAA/NOS and b) disseminating ECSC research findings and products to NOAA/NOS and other relevant local, regional, and national stakeholders. The Deputy Director will collaborate with the Center Director on all Center activities to ensure success and efficient functioning of the Center.

The Distinguished Scientist (Dr. Charles Jagoe) is responsible for coordinating research activities across the focus areas, facilitating production of peer-reviewed publications, facilitating interactions with NOAA and other scientists, assisting in the acquisition or leveraging of supplemental extramural funding, and mentoring students and faculty throughout the Center. The Distinguished Scientist will work closely with the ECSC Technical Monitors and NOAA Advisory Council to stay abreast of NOAA/NOS research priorities and work with the ECSC Leadership Team (as further described below) to ensure that the ECSC research goals and related student training activities are aligned with these research priorities. The Distinguished Scientist will also oversee ECSC efforts related to the cross CSC Collaborative Initiative.

The Education and Outreach Lead (Dr. Bernadette Kelley) is responsible for overseeing the expansion of the pipeline for students into NOAA-related sciences as well as the advancement of student training in the STEM and socioeconomic disciplines from under-represented minority communities. Together with the the Deputy Director, the Education and Outreach Lead is also responsible for identifying and coordinating the implementation of the ECSC student core competencies that are critical to the Center's student training objectives. Along with the Center Director, the Deputy Director and Distinguished Scientist, the Education and Outreach lead is involved in Center's decision making processes.

The Leadership Team works closely with the NOAA EPP Program Manager (Dr. Audrey Trotman), Technical Monitors and Advisory Council to ensure that research and training activities are aligned with NOAA/EPP/NOS goals and objectives. This team includes the Center Director, Deputy Director, Distinguished Scientist, Education and Outreach Lead, Program Coordinator, Coordinator-Finance, and Coordinator-Student Affairs.

The Executive Committee helps to coordinate and ensure that Center research and training activities are effectively carried out. This team includes all members of the Leadership Team and participating Institutional PIs, and Focus Area Leads.

Meet the NOAA-ECSC Team

Dr. Michael Abazinge
Dr. Bernadette Kelley
Deputy Director / Education and Outreach Lead
Dr. Charles Jagoe
Distinguished Scientist
Mrs. Cynthia Henry
Coordinator, Finance

Postdoctoral Associate(s)

Zakiya Hoyett
Date Serving: January 4, 2016 - Present
Daniel Osborne
Date Served: January 4, 2013 - June 30,2015
Lisa Wickliffe
Date Served: August 1, 2014 - August 31, 2014
Lemir Teron
Date Served: September 11, 2015 - August 31, 2016

NERR Coordinators

Megan Lamb, ANERR
Date Served: July 1, 2007 - August 2016
Christina Mohrman, GBNERR
Date Served: August 3, 2007 - August 31, 2016
Charles Foster, MANERR
Date Served: August 1, 2014 - July 16, 2015
Shanna Madsen, MANERR
Date Served: August 2, 2012 - August 30, 2013

Coordinator, Student Affairs

Siteria Gregory
Date Served: Nov 6, 2015 - August 7, 2016
Richard Walker
Date Served: July 5, 2014 - July 17, 2015
Drew Seminara
Date Served: Jan 24, 2011 - Jan 28, 2014

Coordinator, Academic Affairs

La Verne Allen Thomas
Date Serving: November 6, 2015 - Present

Bonnie Morris Griffin
Date Served: October 26, 2012 - April 3, 2015

  •   1515 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, 305-D FSH Science Research CenterTallahassee, FL 32307(850) 412-7797